Right to be forgotten in Internet forums

Latest News Forums Site technical issues and feedback Right to be forgotten in Internet forums

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Oscar

Hello again:

In another thread -now closed- I asked that all my messages posted on this forum be deleted. I also made the request through other channels. I said that if my request was not granted I would explore “legal means”.

Some laughed then, out of ignorance as often happens, because they interpreted that I was making a bluff. Certainly to suggest that a legion of lawyers are going to go after Mr. Murray or the moderators is ridiculous, as is to think that I meant that. Although I am not an expert in law, I have something to say.

In the European Union we have the famous and pioneering General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). Your Data Protection Act 2018 is your national implementation of the European Regulation (in Spain we also have a legal equivalence). I do not know to what extent it will remain in force or if it has been modified by a more recent one.

According to these regulations (at least in the European Union), every website has to have a privacy policy, and other things depending on the personal data it processes or stores. A simple email address provided for a newsletter subscription, for example, is considered personal data.

And every citizen of the Union has several rights in relation to their personal data: access, rectification, opposition, deletion (“right to be forgotten“), etc. If any person considers that their rights are not being duly taken care of, that person can go to the Control Authority of each country. You don’t need “powerful lawyers” to assert his rights in this context. And obviously there are highly variable penalties and fines depending on the case, if it is determined that the GDPR has been breached.